Deverills Performing Arts Series

St Mary's Church, Kingston Deverill
Ticket Price:

Piano Concerto No 12 in A maj, KV414

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 91)

 Written in the autumn of 1782 in Vienna, the work was scored for solo piano, two oboes, two bassoons (optional), two horns, and strings (consisting of violins, violas, cellos, and double basses). Like all three of the early Vienna concertos that Mozart wrote, it is frequently played with the ensemble we have tonight - a string sextet with piano.

Despite its modest nature and scoring, it stands out in Mozart's early production. Although the three early Viennese concertos (Nos 11, 12 and 13) represent in some senses a formal regression compared to their immediate predecessors, this one is a forerunner of the maestro's mature works in terms of its musical effect.

Souvenir de Florence

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840 - 93)

This gorgeous string sextet in D minor, Op 70, is scored for 2 violins, 2 violas and 2 cellos composed in the summer of 1890. Tchaikovsky dedicated the work to the St Petersburg Chamber Music Society in response to his becoming an Honorary Member. The work, in the traditional four-movement form, was titled "Souvenir de Florence" because the composer sketched one of the work's principal themes while visiting Florence, Italy. The work was revised between December 1891 and January 1892, before being premiered in 1892.

< Return to Events
Book Tickets