Leon McCawley Plays Mozart

Wiltshire Music Centre
Ticket Price:
£35.00 / £10.00 (Under 18s & Students)

Pace out to the  beautiful rolling countryside of Moravia and Bohemia; Janacek’s music captures the warmth, humor and deep pathos of the Czech people. Originally a piano work, On an Overgrown Path is a collection of heartfelt miniatures in which Janacek pours his innermost thoughts. Although written whilst the composer was in American, Dvorak’s 9th Symphony contains some of the greatest and well-known melodies ever written and their wistful reminiscences of his home country are undeniable.

 Leon McCawley, one of Britain’s foremost pianists, has forged a highly successful career since winning first prize in the 1993 International Beethoven Piano Competition in Vienna and second prize at the Leeds International Piano Competition the same year. He perfectly complements this folk inspired programme with Mozart’s fresh and playful Piano Concerto No.22.

Piano                                       Leon McCawley
Conductor                               Jason Thornton

Janacek (arr D. Matthews)                 On an Overgrown Path (excerpts)
Mozart                                                 Piano Concerto No.22 KV482
Dvorak                                                Symphony No.9 (from the New World)

Available from www.wiltshiremusic.org.uk or by phone 01225 860100

< Return to Events
Book Tickets